My chocolate girl, Mocha!

February 5, 2010

She was very patient, and it paid off, I finally painted Mocha’s portrait!!!

My Mocha aka Mochie-Roo aka Mochie aka Mocha-roney and Cheese aka Pretty Girl!!!

It is ironic that it took me so long to get around to painting my chocolate girl!!!  But it was a pleasure to finally paint her portrait.  As you know, MOCHIE-ROO was inspired and named after Miss Mocha Marty, my chocolate lab.  Mocha is my FIRST dog and since we got her 2 1/2 years ago, she has become my constant companion.  She is going to be 7 years old in March, so although I call her my Pretty ‘Ittle Girl, she is actually a middle-aged woman.  She gets mistaken for a puppy all the time because of her high-energy, enthusiasm, puppy-like face, and fit physique!  What middle-aged woman doesn’ t mind being mistaken for half her age???

Mocha loves running, mountain biking, and hiking with me.  She also loves a good game of fetch, as well as prancing and bounding through the snow.  She is a very active girl!  As you know from my “About” page and previous blog posts, Mocha is a comfort whore (pardon my language) and loves green beans, carrots, apples, pears, and of course, peanut butter.

I am SO happy with how Mocha’s portrait turned out!  The photo I worked from had the sun hitting the right side of her face, so for the portrait, I washed out that side of her face even more.  The washed-out right side turned out awesome, in my opinion; and I love the graphic, color-blocky-y feel of the portrait.  The white spot on her chest was supposed to be her bone-shaped collar tag, but it is now a rectangle (oopps! should have used masking fluid!).  If you read my post yesterday, Mocha was a little POed at me, but as soon as I got home from a meeting I had last night, she was over it (I chalk it up to short memory more than anything else).
Let me know what you think of Mocha’s portrait by leaving comments; I love hearing feedback and opinions!!!

2 Responses to “My chocolate girl, Mocha!”


  1. Hi Chloe, you did such a good job with Mocha…I am so glad that you love her as much as you do, I know that Angie misses her alot but she is much better with you and John…You guys take good care of her and she sure does get alot of excercise and that is what we all need young or old…lol

    Loveya,
    Aunt Margaret
    x0x0x0x0x0x0

  2. mochieroo Says:

    Thank you, Aunt Margaret! I do love Mocha, so much! I think that if Ma and Dad wanted a dog again, a small dog would be a better fit for them 🙂

    xoxo
    Chloe


Leave a Reply

