Pooper-Scoopin in the Snow

January 21, 2010

We are getting some amazing amounts of snow here in Durango, CO today … and as I was walking downtown today a steamy pile of you-know-what in the snow made me think of something.  I do not think that the snow cancels out a dog owners responsibility to pick up his/her pooch’s poo.  When you dog deficates, whether on grass, rocks, cement, snow, you are responsible for picking it up.  To often in the past few months I have seen neglectful pooper scoopers who leave their dog’s poo pile steaming in the snow to eventually freeze into a frozen stiff poo pile.  At the very worst, I have seen a pile of dog poo on the snow-shoveled sidewalk!

My google image search for "dog poop in snow" was unfruitful. So this No Dog Poop logo will have to suffice!

I understand that it can be more difficult to scoop up poo when there is snow on the ground, especially if your dog just took a smash in an untouched field of 3-ft snow.   That said, every dog owner is guilty (me included) of not picking up after their dog at one time or another for some reason.  However, the abundance of snow we have received here has really created a contrast with the brown stuff (brown really pops out at ya in a sea of white) and made me think that too many dog owners have lax poop scooping policies.

Leave a Reply

